TIME to GLOAT

Back on September 4th, I brilliantly predicted that Super Bowl XLIX would be played between the Seattle Seahawks, and my New England Patriots on this blog. Guess what, aunts and uncles?

I’ve still got it at age seventy-two…

On to the contest. This game has three keys, two are obvious, the third is an attempt at brilliance – again – by myself:

1) Turnovers have to be minimized, especially early; remember last year’s first play from scrimmage by Peyton Manning; ‘game-set-match’ before any one had eaten their second slice of pizza;

2) Special teams’ play, I think, will be very critical throughout this game;

3) The effectiveness of the middle linebackers of the Seahawks against the Patriots’ Gronkowski, Hoomanawanui, Wright, Edelman, and Amendola. 

REDEMPTION.

The word is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary (known as OED to Patriot Nation) as “compensatory recovery or response.”

To one very young, and very abrasive Irish Catholic boy, who learnt its meaning and impact very early, it also meant, ‘I didn’t eat the chocolates’ under the intense interrogation of that boy’s mother, and maternal grandmother and aunt has held up very well over time, and distance. It’s great (NO, let me rephrase that, it’s stupendous) when you’re right, NO matter the age of the accused. Thank you, Monsignor Savage!

The only way tomorrow ends well for that same boy (granted a tad longer in the tooth) is for there to be complete and total redemption from / for the lads from Foxboro.

After two weeks of pure contrived nonsense, unadulterated rubbish, and directed BS from 99.99999999% of the press / media, I predict the Patriots will do what they have to do, and mustWIN.

And, I’m the kind of person that wants the win to be described years later as “scorched earth destruction.”

Hell, Bill Kilgore can describe it better than I can…

Smell that? You smell that?

Napalm, son. Nothing else in the world smells like that. 

Leave a comment